You are here:  / Alternative / Florence Welch / Lady Gaga / Music / Pop / Lady Gaga – Hey Girl (ft. Florence Welch)

Lady Gaga – Hey Girl (ft. Florence Welch)

Lady Gaga - Hey Girl (ft. Florence Welch)

Lady Gaga’s fifth studio album ‘Joanne’ is set for release this Friday, listen to the anticipated collaboration with Florence Welch ‘Hey Girl’ here.

Although Gaga’s new album ‘Joanne’ is scheduled to officially premiere worldwide on the 21st, the standard edition has surfaced online ahead of its release. Early reviews have commended the pop veteran for going back to basics on the project and its clear with tracks such as the opening stomper ‘Diamond Heart’ and brooding RedOne produced ‘Angel Down’ that Gaga has adopted a more organic, credible stance in favour of clear-cut pop which is a refreshing regression.

One of the most anticipated cuts is the sole collaboration with Florence Welch on ‘Hey Girl’. Revealing that she hopes the song will encourage women to bond with one another, Gaga told The Sunday Times: “This is about an unconditional love women should have for each other… I’d like women to hear the song and, when they walk into a bar and see a girl they’ve never met, they just go, ‘Hey girl!’ And that means, I know. We’re in this bar, and these men are foolish, but I got you…”

“Hey girl, hey girl, We can make it easy if we lift each other / Hey girl, hey girl, We don’t need to keep on one-in’ up another”, the ladies sing in a call and response style delivery, the track is a lighthearted affair and simplistic in its ode to women sticking together.

Co-produced by Mark Ronson, Bloodpop and Gaga (the team for the majority of the album), the production utilises a leisurely percussion, whirring retro synth stabs and glorious glimpses of a harp to build its joyous vibe. Known for their powerful voices, Lady Gaga and Florence Welch provide a surprisingly understated performance, no frills just a showcase of camaraderie between the two. Listen below:


‘Joanne’ Track List
Release Date: 21st October 2016

1. Diamond Heart
2. A-Yo
3. Joanne
4. John Wayne
5. Dancin’ in Circles
6. Perfect Illusion
7. Million Reasons
8. Sinner’s Prayer
9. Come to Mama
10. Hey Girl ft. Florence Welch
11. Angel Down

Deluxe Edition
12. Grigio Girls
13. Just Another Day
14. Angel Down (Work Tape)



Editor Rating
User Rating
[Average: 0]